Little Qingdao Isle
Small Qingdao covers an area of only 0.024 square kilometers and is 17 meters above sea level. Because of its shape like an ancient harp, it is also called "Qin Island".
Chinese Name: 小青岛
English Name: Little Qingdao Isle
Type: Qingdao Scenic Area, Qingdao famous spots & Artificial attractions
Best Time: All Year Around
Recommended Visiting Hours: 1-3 hours
Opening Hours:7: 30 a.m.-6:00 p.m.
Location:No.26, Qinyu Road, Shinan District, Qingdao City
Why is Little Qingdao Isle so Special?
Small Qingdao covers an area of only 0.024 square kilometers and is 17 meters above sea level. Because of its shape like an ancient harp, it is also called “Qin Island”. The island is 370 meters away from the east coast, with a long sea wall connecting with the land. The island was originally a part of the land, and gradually separated from the land under the erosion and carving of the waves for many years, forming the shape of today.
Historical evolution of Little Qingdao Isle
In the early 1940s, a “breakwater” was built on the east side to connect with the land. Later, some people regarded it as Qin, also known as Qin Island. In 1898, Germany rented Jiaozhou and built a lighthouse on the island. After liberation, the island has been used by the Chinese navy speedboat detachment and a lighthouse has been built on a large scale. the tower is now 15.5 meters high and has a white octagonal body. it is an important symbol for domestic and foreign ships entering and leaving Jiaozhou bay. When night falls, the red light on the tower and the light on the trestle bridge float on the blue waves, forming a wonderful picture. Therefore, “Qin Yu Piao Deng” is regarded as one of Qingdao’s top ten sights and one of Qingdao’s symbols.
In 1988, Little Qingdao was opened as a park and officially opened to the public. On the basis of planting mainly black pine, the island is also planted with flowering ornamental plants in spring, summer and autumn, such as cherry blossom, peach, pomegranate, hibiscus, crape myrtle, etc. In the relatively flat southern part of the island, there is a very small square, in the middle of which stands a sculpture of a harp woman holding an ancient harp and looking at the sea.
The most conspicuous sight of Little Qingdao is a white cone-shaped lighthouse standing at the top, which is an important navigation mark for ships passing through the sea to enter and leave Jiaozhou Bay. The lighthouse was built by the Germans in 1900 and opened in 1915.
There used to be many rare yellow lilies on the island. When in full bloom, they smell fragrant and are very gratifying. They are a kind of flower type well-known in the international plant community. The Germans call them “Qingdao lilies”.
Unfortunately, because of the increasing number of visitors, lilies are now nowhere to be found. As early as the early 1930s, little Qingdao was turned into a park with tea halls, flower beds, stone benches and chairs, and roads and yachting docks. In the summer of 1988, little Qingdao was turned into a park again, and after re-planning and construction, it became another tourist attraction in Qianhai.
The Little Qingdao Lighthouse is located on Xiaoqing Island in Qingdao Bay at the mouth of Jiaozhou Bay. The lighthouse was built in 1890 and opened in 1915. The Little Qingdao Lighthouse, located at the highest point of Little Qingdao in Qingdao Bay, was built by the Germans in the 26th year of Guangxu’s reign in the Qing Dynasty (1900) and is an important navigation mark for ships entering and leaving Jiaozhou Bay and Qingdao Bay.
Legend has it that long ago, a fairy who played the piano fell in love with a young man who was fishing. She quietly came to earth and married the young man. Whenever her husband goes to sea, she sits on the island playing the piano and uses it to guide her lover. When the jade emperor learned that he wanted to catch the harp girl and return, the harp girl remained faithful to her love and showed partiality to the island. the sound of the harp still lingers around the island. The ancient fairy tale is poignant and beautiful, touching generations of artists. In memory of the harp girl, they used their imagination to make a sculpture of the harp girl with smooth lines and vivid images. In 2002, a miniature version of “Qin Nu”, based on the sculpture of Qin Nu, was designated as a symbol of Qingdao by the Qingdao municipal government as a gift to friends at home and abroad.
How to get there
- 6, 26, 202, 214, 223, 228, 231, 304, 311, 312, 316, 321, 501, 504, tunnel 2, tunnel 6 under the “Lu Xun park (submarine world)” station, walk about 800 meters west along qinyu road to reach the island.
- Exit Lu Xun Park on 312, 501 and Tourism Line 1 and walk about 800 meters west along Qinyu Road to reach the island.
Take Metro Line M3 and get off at Renmin Hall Station.
- The pier to the south of the trestle takes a speedboat to Xiaoqingdao. It takes only 3 minutes and the reference price is 30 yuan.
- Tsingtao Brewery Museum
- Qingdao Naval Museum
- May Fourth Square
- Qingdao Olympic Sailing Center
- Mount Laoshan in Qingdao
- Tsingdao Beer Museum
- Qingdao No.1 Bathing Beach
- Zhanqiao Pier in Qingdao
Edited by Doreen/张洋