Miaoying Temple in Beijing
Chinese Name: 妙应寺
English Name: Miaoying Temple
Type: Temple, Buddhism culture & National key cultural relics protection unit
Best Time: All Year Around
Recommended Visiting Hours: 1-3 hour
Opening Hours: 09: 00-16: 00 (January 1-December 31, Monday-Sunday)
Ticket:20 RMB (Top 200 Free on Wednesday)
Location: 171 Fuchengmennei Street Xicheng District, Beijing, China.
Why is Miaoying Temple so special?
Miaoying Temple, also known as Baita Temple, is a Tibetan Buddhist Gelug sect monasteries. The temple was built in the Yuan Dynasty. The White Pagoda built in the temple in the Yuan Dynasty is the earliest and largest Lama Pagoda in China.
History of Miaoying Temple
Miaoying Temple was an important project in the construction of the Yuan Dynasty capital city and the temple was completed in 1288. From then on, it became the royal temple of the Yuan Dynasty.
After the cultural revolution began in 1966, lamas in the temple were dismissed and the gate and bell and drum towers were demolished and converted into shopping malls. it was not until 1997 that the Beijing municipal government demolished the shopping malls and rebuilt the mountain gate and the temple buildings. In 1998, Miaoying Temple finally reopened.
Main Attractions in Miaoying Temple
White Pagoda of Miaoying Temple
The White Pagoda of Miaoying Temple is 51 meters high and has a white body. The tower foundation is a T-shaped tower built of big city bricks. It is 2 meters above the ground and covers an area of 1422 square meters.
The shape of the White Pagoda originated from ancient India and was later introduced into the Yuan Dynasty. This tower not only has rich Buddhist meaning, can adapt to the requirements of various activities, and adds luster and momentum to the architecture of the Yuan Dynasty.
In 1961, the White Pagoda of Miaoying Temple was announced as the first batch of national key cultural relics protection units.
Cultural Relics and Historic Sites
The White Pagoda was repaired and strengthened in 1978. In the process of construction, tripitaka, the woodcarving Guanyin image, and so on, which were left on the top of the tower in 1753, were discovered.
How to Get There
- By Bus:
Take bus 3, 7, 13, 42, 47, 101, 102, 103, 409, or 612 and get off at Baitasi (White Dagoba Temple) Station.
- By Subway:
1. Take Subway Line 2 to Fuchengmen Station. Get out from Exit B and walk to the east for about 700 yards (640m).
2. Take Subway Line 4 to Xisi Station. Get out from Exit A and walk to the west for about 900 yards (820m).
It shows Beijing’s 3,000-year history of city construction and 800-year history of capital construction. It has seven floors and is mainly divided into basic exhibition halls and special exhibition halls.
Prince Gong’s palace is the most well-preserved palace complex in our country. It has gone through the historical process of the Qing Dynasty from its heyday to its decline and fall. Therefore, there is the saying “a Prince Gong’s palace, half of the history of the Qing Dynasty”.